Massage Techniques

4-Hand

Two therapists specially trained in the art of the Bliss massage working together. The client experiences a deep level of relaxation.

Active Release (A.R.T.)

In areas of muscular restriction, the therapist combines a direct compression of the tissues with specific ranges of motion of the affected joint.  It is not performed for the entire duration of the treatment, but is incorporated into the massage session.

Bliss

A blend of traditional techniques combined with original dynamic maneuvers.  Stretching and body movement are integrated into the massage.  Movements are very fluid and enveloping, inducing deep relaxation.

Californian

The therapist uses long, enveloping movements to induce relaxation in the client.  It is typically more superficial than a typical Swedish massage, and acts to stimulate the mind-body connection of the client.

Cranial Sacral

A holistic therapy during which the therapist applies a light pressure to the central nervous system (consisting of the brain and spinal cord), and the surrounding tissues.  The therapist holds his/her position for a longer duration, to encourage the correct movement of the head, spine and pelvis.

Deep Tissue

A strong technique that assists the re-alignment of deep layers of connective and muscle tissue. Many of the same techniques as a typical Swedish massage are used, but the therapists will typically use their fists, forearms and elbows to apply a deeper pressure.  It often includes stretching and range-of-motion techniques.  The client may be tender in treated areas for 24-48 hours after treatment.

Esalen

The two main influences are the Swedish massage and the Sensory Awareness work of Charlotte Selver. Esalen Massage works with gentle rocking of the body, passive joint exercises and deep structural work on the muscles and joints, together with an energetic balancing of the body.

Exfoliation

Detoxify, cleanse, exfoliate, revitalize, re-hydrate! A treatment using black soap, rhassoul, argan oil and honey cream. Benefits of black soap: Made with black olives and olive oil, it is 100% natural and suitable for all skin types. It thoroughly purifies and cleans the skin, eliminates toxins and dead skin all while hydrating with vitamin E. Benefits of Rhassoul: 100% natural mineral clay extracted from the mountains of the Moroccan Atlas. It thoroughly cleans, eliminates imperfections, tightens pores, absorbs dirt, excess sebum and dead skin. Hydration: For extra hydration, we moisturize using argan oil and honey cream.

Fasciatherapy (not Myofasical Release!)

Fascia is a connective tissue that covers everything in the body (muscles, organs, nerves, etc).  In areas of tension, overuse or injury, fascia can become stuck to itself.  Fascia therapy is a strong technique that works to break down these adhesions.  It is not performed for the entire duration of the treatment, but is incorporated into the massage session. Clients typically experience a burning sensation, and the client may be tender in treated areas for 24-48 hours after treatment. It is very effective at releasing stubborn areas of pain.

HOA

Heated essential oils that are added to your massage.

Hot Stone

Heated, smooth, volcanic stones are placed along areas of tension in the body, and held in the therapist’s hands during the massage.  The heat from the stones replaces the need for deep pressure.  This technique acts on the nervous system to induce deep relaxation. Excellent for releasing tension, improving circulation and detoxifying the body.

Kinesitherapy

Kinesitherapy or Kinesiatrics is the therapeutic treatment of disease by passive and active muscular movements. It may involve massages, yoga or exercice.

Kinetic Swedish

Kinetic Swedish massage consists of a series of massage techniques that are applied to muscles as well as tendons. Its goal is to achieve a deep relaxation of the muscles and thereby favor an increase in the range of motion – thus the term “kinetic.”

Lomi Lomi

Hawaiian Massage.  The therapist primarily uses the forearms during the treatment.  Fluid movements work from head to toe in a wave-like motion.  Relaxation guaranteed.

Lymphatic Drainage

The lymphatic system supplies cells with nutrients, and removes toxins and wastes.  Lymphatic drainage is very light pumping technique that supports the immune system, drains swollen tissues, and detoxifies the body.  It is a great technique during pregnancy, cancer treatment, or after an injury or surgery.

Myofascial Release (not Fasciatherapy!)

Fascia is a connective tissue that covers everything in the body (muscles, organs, nerves, etc).  In areas of tension, overuse or injury, fascia can become stuck to itself.  Myofascial Release applies gentle sustained pressure into the restrictions to eliminate pain and restore motion.  A gentle pressure, applied slowly and held for a sustained period of time, allows the fascia to elongate.

Oncology

Therapy for a cancer patient is individually modified for make safe treatment available during all stages of the cancer experience. Patients can receive massage during chemotherapy sessions, or before or after radiation therapy. Depending on the stage of treatment, the massage is typically light and focuses more on the importance of touch rather than physical release. It incorporates all the techniques of lymphatic drainage to help the overwhelmed lymphatic system process the effects of chemotherapy and radiation.

Pre-natal

Suitable for pregnant woman at any stage of pregnancy.  First Trimester avoids any abdominal work and treatment of certain reflexology points, and typically avoids specific deep pressure around the sacrum.  Strong pressure overall is completely safe.  Second and Third Trimesters can safely include work to the abdomen, which the baby also enjoys.  Focus is often on releasing muscular and nerve pain around the shoulders, back and hips, and reducing fluid retention in the legs.

Reflexology

The therapist applies pressure to a system of zones on the feet and hands using specific thumb, finger and hand techniques.  Each point correlates to an area of the body and the compression of these points works to create a physical change in that region.  This can be integrated into a massage session, or could last the entire duration of the treatment.

Shiatsu

Shiatsu is a Japanese bodywork that uses finger pressure and stretches along energy lines called meridians to relieve stress in the body and return it to a state of balance. Shiatsu can be done with quite a lot of pressure but can also be tailored to the needs of each client. Traditional shiatsu is performed on a futon or low mattress wearing comfortable clothing but can also be incorporated into a table massage and mixed with other styles.

Sports

Pre-Sport Massage typically includes a deeper pressure, stretching, and techniques to release the connective tissue to prepare the body for physical activity.  The therapist needs to be aware of how soon the client’s next athletic competition will be.  Client may be tender for 24-48 hours after the treatment.  Post-Sport Massage is typically done within 48 hours after physical activity and focuses on removing toxins from the body, and releasing muscle tension.

Swedish

The therapist uses a combination of gliding, kneading and friction techniques, using their hands, fists, and forearms.  It can be performed in either a relaxing or stimulating manner, depending on the needs of the client. Stretching and percussions are sometimes incorporated.  The client undresses either completely, or to his/her level of comfort.

Thai Yoga

The treatment is performed on a mat or table. The client wears loose comfortable clothing. Energy lines throughout the body are palmed and thumbed as the client is placed in various yoga positions and guided into deep stretches. Hands, feet, elbows and knees are used by the therapist depending on the needs of the client.

Massage Techniques

4 mains

Deux thérapeutes spécialement formés à l’art du massage Bliss travaillent ensemble. Le client éprouve un profond niveau de relaxation.

Libération active (A.R.T.)

Dans les zones de restriction musculaire, le thérapeute combine une compression directe des tissus avec des plages de mouvement spécifiques de l’articulation touchée. Il n’est pas effectué pendant toute la durée du traitement, mais est incorporé dans la séance de massage.

Félicité

Un mélange de techniques traditionnelles combinées à des manoeuvres dynamiques originales. Les étirements et les mouvements du corps sont intégrés dans le massage. Les mouvements sont très fluides et enveloppants, induisant une relaxation profonde.

Californien

Le thérapeute utilise des mouvements longs et enveloppants pour induire la relaxation chez le client. Il est typiquement plus superficiel qu’un massage suédois typique et agit pour stimuler la connexion corps-esprit du client.

Crânial Sacral

Le thérapeute utilise des mouvements longs et enveloppants pour induire la relaxation chez le client. Il est typiquement plus superficiel qu’un massage suédois typique et agit pour stimuler la connexion corps-esprit du client.

Tissus profonds

Une technique forte qui aide le réalignement des couches profondes du tissu conjonctif et musculaire. Plusieurs des mêmes techniques qu’un massage suédois typique sont utilisées, mais les thérapeutes utilisent généralement leurs poings, leurs avant-bras et leurs coudes pour appliquer une pression plus profonde. Il comprend souvent des techniques d’étirement et d’amplitude de mouvement. Le client peut être tendre dans les zones traitées pendant 24 à 48 heures après le traitement.

Esalen

Les deux influences principales sont le massage suédois et le travail Sensory Awareness de Charlotte Selver . Esalen Massage fonctionne avec un balancement doux du corps, des exercices articulaires passifs et un travail structurel profond sur les muscles et les articulations, ainsi qu’un équilibrage énergétique du corps.

Exfoliation

Détoxifier, nettoyer, exfolier, revitaliser, réhydrater! Un soin au savon noir, au rhassoul, à l’huile d’argan et à la crème au miel. Bienfaits du savon noir </ strong>: Fait d’olives noires et d’huile d’olive, il est 100% naturel et convient à tous les types de peau. Il purifie et nettoie en profondeur la peau, élimine les toxines et les peaux mortes tout en hydratant avec de la vitamine E. Bienfaits du Rhassoul </ strong>: argile minérale 100% naturelle extraite des montagnes de l’Atlas marocain. Il nettoie en profondeur, élimine les imperfections, resserre les pores, absorbe la saleté, l’excès de sébum et la peau morte. Hydratation </ strong>: pour une hydratation supplémentaire, nous hydratons avec de l’huile d’argan et de la crème au miel.

Fasciathérapie (pas de libération myofasciale!)

La fascia est un tissu conjonctif qui recouvre tout dans le corps (muscles, organes, nerfs, etc.). Dans les zones de tension, de surutilisation ou de blessure, l’aponévrose peut rester collée à elle-même. La fascia thérapie est une technique forte qui fonctionne pour décomposer ces adhérences. Il n’est pas effectué pendant toute la durée du traitement, mais est incorporé dans la séance de massage. Les clients éprouvent généralement une sensation de brûlure, et le client peut être tendre dans les zones traitées pendant 24 à 48 heures après le traitement. Il est très efficace pour libérer les zones de douleur tenaces.

HOA

Huiles essentielles chauffées qui s’ajoutent à votre massage.

Hot Stone

Des pierres volcaniques chauffées et lisses sont placées le long des zones de tension dans le corps et maintenues entre les mains du thérapeute pendant le massage. La chaleur des pierres remplace le besoin de pression profonde. Cette technique agit sur le système nerveux pour induire une relaxation profonde. Excellent pour relâcher la tension, améliorer la circulation et détoxifier le corps.

Kinésithérapie

La kinésithérapie ou kinésithérapie est le traitement thérapeutique de la maladie par des mouvements musculaires passifs et actifs. Cela peut impliquer des massages, du yoga ou de l’exercice.

Suédois cinétique

Le massage suédois cinétique consiste en une série de techniques de massage appliquées aux muscles et aux tendons. Son objectif est de parvenir à une relaxation profonde des muscles et ainsi favoriser une augmentation de l’amplitude de mouvement – d’où le terme « cinétique ».

Lomi Lomi

Massage hawaïen Le thérapeute utilise principalement les avant-bras pendant le traitement. Les mouvements de fluide fonctionnent de la tête aux pieds dans un mouvement ondulatoire. Détente garantie.

Drainage lymphatique

Le système lymphatique fournit des nutriments aux cellules et élimine les toxines et les déchets. Le drainage lymphatique est une technique de pompage très légère qui soutient le système immunitaire, draine les tissus enflés et détoxifie le corps. C’est une excellente technique pendant la grossesse, le traitement du cancer, ou après une blessure ou une intervention chirurgicale.

Libération myofasciale (pas fasciathérapie!)

La fascia est un tissu conjonctif qui recouvre tout dans le corps (muscles, organes, nerfs, etc.). Dans les zones de tension, de surutilisation ou de blessure, l’aponévrose peut rester collée à elle-même. La libération myofasciale applique une pression douce et soutenue dans les restrictions pour éliminer la douleur et restaurer le mouvement. Une légère pression, appliquée lentement et maintenue pendant une période de temps prolongée, permet à l’aponévrose de s’allonger.

Oncologie

La thérapie pour un patient atteint de cancer est individuellement modifiée pour rendre un traitement sûr disponible à toutes les étapes de l’expérience du cancer. Les patients peuvent recevoir un massage pendant les séances de chimiothérapie, ou avant ou après la radiothérapie. Selon le stade du traitement, le massage est généralement léger et met davantage l’accent sur l’importance du toucher </ em> que sur la libération physique. Il intègre toutes les techniques de drainage lymphatique pour aider le système lymphatique débordé à traiter les effets de la chimiothérapie et de la radiothérapie.

Prénatal

Convient pour les femmes enceintes au stade de </ strong> grossesse. Premier trimestre </ u> évite tout travail abdominal et le traitement de certains points de réflexologie, et évite généralement une pression profonde spécifique autour du sacrum. Une forte pression globale est complètement sûre. Les deuxième et troisième trimestres </ u> peuvent inclure en toute sécurité du travail à l’abdomen, ce que le bébé apprécie également. L’accent est souvent mis sur la libération des douleurs musculaires et nerveuses autour des épaules, du dos et des hanches, et la réduction de la rétention d’eau dans les jambes.

Réflexologie

Le thérapeute exerce une pression sur un système de zones sur les pieds et les mains en utilisant des techniques spécifiques au pouce, au doigt et à la main. Chaque point est corrélé à une zone du corps et la compression de ces points fonctionne pour créer un changement physique dans cette région. Cela peut être intégré dans une séance de massage, ou pourrait durer toute la durée du traitement.

Acupression

Le shiatsu est une carrosserie japonaise qui utilise la pression des doigts et s’étire le long des lignes d’énergie appelées méridiens pour soulager le stress dans le corps et le ramener à un état d’équilibre. Shiatsu peut être fait avec beaucoup de pression, mais peut également être adapté aux besoins de chaque client. Le shiatsu traditionnel est exécuté sur un futon ou un matelas bas, avec des vêtements confortables, mais peut également être incorporé dans un massage de table et mélangé avec d’autres styles.

Des sports

Massage pré-sport </ u> comprend généralement une pression plus profonde, étirement, et des techniques pour libérer le tissu conjonctif pour préparer le corps pour l’activité physique. Le thérapeute doit être conscient de la prochaine compétition athlétique du client. Le client peut être tendre pendant 24 à 48 heures après le traitement. Le massage post-sport est généralement pratiqué dans les 48 heures suivant l’activité physique et se concentre sur l’élimination des toxines du corps et la libération des tensions musculaires.

suédois

Le thérapeute utilise une combinaison de techniques de glissement, de pétrissage et de friction, en utilisant ses mains, ses poings et ses avant-bras. Il peut être effectué de manière relaxante ou stimulante, selon les besoins du client. Les étirements et les percussions sont parfois incorporés. Le client se déshabille complètement ou à son niveau de confort.

Yoga thaïlandais

Le traitement est effectué sur un tapis ou une table. Le client porte des vêtements amples et confortables. Les lignes d’énergie dans tout le corps sont palées et feuilletées lorsque le client est placé dans diverses positions de yoga et guidé dans des étirements profonds. Les mains, les pieds, les coudes et les genoux sont utilisés par le thérapeute en fonction des besoins du client.